We Are Knitters Yellowstone Cardigan – First Impressions

I’m sure you’ve heard of the company We Are Knitters, and if not, are you hiding under a rock?? let me explain it to you. They are an online knitting kit company. You can buy just their yarn and needles by themselves if you want, but they focus mainly on selling kits, ie: make it yourself. You can also buy the pre-made garments, but it’s so much more satisfying to make it yourself!

I decided to take the plunge, and order two kits: the Classic Sweater and the Yellowstone Cardigan. They are quite pricey, but if you subscribe to their newsletter, you’ll notice that they have sales quite often, usually about the same discounts too. So if you miss a good sale, chances are it will come back in a month or two. I’m quite frugal when it comes to money, so I definitely got them on sale! Also, I was really getting the itch to make myself some clothes, especially with my recent 25 pound, and counting, weight loss.

Since spring is getting closer, I decided to start with the Yellowstone Cardigan. I ordered mine in their shade Mint and size XL which made it more expensive then it already is…. The kit comes with yarn (this one is cotton), the pattern, a darning needle, and a label. The knitting needles are optional, but I decided to get them because YOLO. Although, adding the needles to your kit does make it a little more expensive as well. The colour in this picture is actually quite true to the in real life colour.

Not gonna lie, I was a little shocked when I opened the kit and began to explore. First of all, the balls of yarn are waaaaaay smaller then I was expecting, to be honest I was like, WTF?? One easily fits in the palm of my hand is smaller then a burger.

I’m over it now, but at first I was like, OMG these are so teeny!! The other thing that I was a little baffled by was the presentation of the pattern. I don’t have pictures because I don’t want to give away the pattern since it’s not mine. But it’s just a giant piece of paper folded in half like a hamburger (width-wise), then again in half like a hot dog (length-wise) so when you get it, it’s like a book, but when you open it, it’s like a poster. And it’s not just this one, the pattern for the Classic Sweater is exactly the same! I don’t hate it, it’s just going to take some getting used to.

Did you notice that ball of yarn that’s rewound? That’s because I used it to swatch! Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get a picture of my swatch, but man after swatching, I’m over the moon excited to start this!! Swatching for garments like sweaters and cardigans is so important guys!! If you don’t know your gauge compared to the pattern gauge, you’ll never know until the very end if your garment will fit properly! I do have a post planned all about swatching, so more on this later.

This kit is going to be a lot of knitting firsts for me. It’s my first kit, my first time using wooden needles, my first time using cotton, my first time using the double moss stitch, and it’s my first time making a cardigan. Make sure you subscribe to my blog to follow me on this journey of knitting the Yellowstone Cardigan!

Until next time, happy making!

 

Leave a Reply

